Simulating BT using ERA5 dataset

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Parisa HeidaryParisa Heidary
    Participant

I’m in the process of delving into RTTOV and its application. My immediate goal is to simulate Brightness Temperature (BT) utilizing the ERA5 dataset, specifically for the TROPICS satellite. Could you assist me with a few inquiries?

1) when I run RTTOV exe file (i.e., example_Fwd.exe) for TROPICS coefficient, I get this error:

” 2024/03/12 17:00:29 fatal error in module ../../src/coef_io/rttov_coef_io_mod.F90:0201
    File of filetype rtcoef does not exist: ~
    2024/03/12 17:00:29 fatal error in module ../../src/coef_io/rttov_read_coefs.F90:0254

fatal error reading coefficients
    STOP 1″

2) To prepare my input file for simulating BT using the ERA5 dataset, how can I format it to ensure compatibility with RTTOV?

I would greatly appreciate any assistance with this matter, as I’m quite new to this and finding it somewhat confusing.

Best,
    Parisa

James HockingJames Hocking
    Keymaster

Hi Parisa,

Depending on what you want to do, you could consider using the NWP SAF Radiance Simulator (RadSim) package, which would allow you to run RTTOV simulations on ERA-5 data without writing any code at all. See:
    https://nwp-saf.eumetsat.int/site/software/radiance-simulator/

I strongly recommend RadSim as a relatively easy way to run RTTOV simulations.

If you want to run RTTOV directly, can I suggest you read the rttov-quick-start.pdf guide in the docs/ directory. This describes how the example_fwd.F90 code works and also explains some basic principles about RTTOV. Similarly, section 3 in the RTTOV user guide (just a couple of pages) gives some imporant basics that all users need to know.